Featured in recent weeks...

"In 2023, the museums and archaeological sites of Greece will open their doors to you free of charge.:

- March 6, in memory of Mélina Mercouri
- April 18 on International Monuments Day
- May 18, for International Museum Day
- June 5 during World Environment Day.
- The last Saturday of September for the European Heritage Days
- September 27, World Tourism Day.
- All public holidays 
- Sundays between November 1 and March 31
- The first Sunday of each month except for the months of July, August and September.
An article published by "the small newspaper of Athens". Don't forget to subscribe to the newsletter!

Epiphany in Greece

Also called Theophany, January 6 is worthily celebrated by the Orthodox every year, in a very original way....

Read more <<<<<

The GIROPOD

An original way to visit Athens, day or night! an article signed "Le petit journal d'Athènes" (remember to subscribe!)

Read more <<<<<

The island of Tilos, located in the Dodecanese, between Rhodes and Kos, is  the first island in Greece and the Mediterranean to operate completely autonomously thanks to renewable energies. An article "the Little Journal of Athens"

Read more <<<<<

SOME IDEAS - To occupy your happy toddlers in the Greek capital
An article signed "Le petit journal d'Athènes"
Read more <<<<<

Born in Athens in 1907, Nikos Engonopoulos  studied at the School of Fine Arts in Athens, having the famous Konstantinos Parthenis as a teacher. Main theme  of his research: Byzantine and post-Byzantine art, alongside Fotis Kontoglou. After a number of trips to Europe and studies in Paris, Munich and Italy,  he returned to Greece where   he worked in the education.

Read more <<<<<

Alain Lefevre, Pianist and Composer

"Sas Agapo" (I love you), this is the title of the pianist and composer's latest album Alain Lefèvre. A new opus – entirely inspired by the picturesque setting and depth of his days spent in Greece – which testifies to the passion that the Franco-Quebecois artist feels for the country where he chose to settle a few months ago.

Read more <<<<<

Inventions of the Ancient Greeks

We know a lot about the philosophy, mythology, history, theater and many other things of ancient Greece, but we know little about the technology of the ancient Greeks. The exhibition at the Herakleidon Museum (Athens) The Extraordinary Inventions of the Ancient Greeks aims to present this lesser-known aspect of the ancient world. We discover that the technology of the ancient Greeks is surprisingly similar to the first steps of contemporary technology, reinforcing the image of Greece as the cradle of Western civilization.
Read more <<<<<

The Greek sap that perfumes the world LE MONDE 
By Stephane Davet

On the Greek island of Chios, this resin has been cultivated since Antiquity to flavor liquors and pastries. A know-how listed as a World Heritage Site.

Maria's gnarled hands show her great-granddaughter how to clean and sort putty tears. Seated in front of large trays, under the facades with geometric figures traced in plaster and cement typical of the village of Pyrgi, the women take off small pebbles, dried leaves and bits of bark from thousands of translucent pearls. An aromatic resin, also called “mastiha”   (pronounced “mastica”), pride of the island of Chios since Antiquity.

Read more <<<<<<<<<<<<

A new museum in the heart of the rebel island
GREECE WEEKLY

A new emblematic museum, directly linked to an archaeological site, as is already the case for Vergina, Delphi and Olympia, will open its doors to the public in June 2016. This is the Elefterna Museum, located in the homonymous archaeological site Elefterna in Crete.

Read more <<<<<<

A la une ces dernières semaines ...

"En 2020, les musées et sites archéologiques de Grèce vous ouvrent leurs portes gratuitement les :

- 6 mars, en mémoire de Mélina Mercouri
- 18 avril lors de la Journée Internationale des monuments
- 18 mai, pour la Journée Internationale des musées
- 5 juin au cours de la Journée Mondiale de l'environnement.
- Le dernier samedi de septembre pour les Journées Européennes du patrimoine
- 27 septembre, Journée Mondiale du tourisme.
- Tous les jours fériés 
- Les dimanches entre le 1er novembre et le 31 mars
- Le premier dimanche de chaque mois sauf pour les mois de juillet, août et septembre."
Un article édité par "le petit journal d'Athènes". N'oubliez pas de vous inscrire à la lettre d'information !

L'Epiphanie en Grèce

Aussi appelée Théophanie, le 6 Janvier est dignement fêté par les orthodoxes chaque année, de façon très originale ....

En savoir plus <<<<<

Le GIROPODE

Une façon originale de visiter Athènes, de jour ou de nuit ! un article signé " Le petit journal d'Athènes" (pensez à vous abonner ! )

En savoir plus <<<<<

L'ile de Tilos, située dans le Dodécanèse, entre Rhodes et Kos, est la première île en Grèce et Méditerranée à fonctionner en toute autonomie grâce aux énergies renouvelables. Un article "le Petit Journal d'Athènes"

En savoir plus <<<<<

QUELQUES IDEES - Pour occuper vos joyeux bambins dans la capitale grecque
Un article signé "Le petit journal d'Athènes"
En savoir plus <<<<<

Né à Athènes en 1907, Nikos Engonopoulos a fait des études à l’école des Beaux-arts d’Athènes, ayant comme professeur le fameux Konstantinos Parthenis. Thème principal de ses recherches : l’art byzantin et post-byzantin, aux côtés de Fotis Kontoglou. Au bout d’un bon nombre de voyages en Europe et des études à Paris, à Munich et en Italie,  il rentre en Grèce où  il travaille dans l’éducation.

En savoir plus <<<<<

Alain Lefevre, Pianiste et Compositeur

« Sas Agapo » (Je vous aime), voilà le titre du dernier disque du pianiste et compositeur Alain Lefèvre. Un nouvel opus – entièrement inspiré du cadre à la fois pittoresque et profond de ses jours passés en Grèce – qui témoigne de la passion que l’artiste franco-québécois éprouve pour le pays où il a choisit de s’installer il y a quelques mois.

En savoir plus <<<<<

Les inventions des grecs anciens

On connaît bien la philosophie, la mythologie, l'histoire, le théâtre et bien d'autres choses de la Grèce antique, mais on connaît peu de choses de la technologie des Grecs anciens. L'exposition du musée Herakleidon (Athènes) Les inventions extraordinaires des Grecs anciens, a pour but de présenter cet aspect, moins connu, du monde ancien. On y découvre que la technologie des Grecs anciens ressemble étonnamment aux premiers pas de la technologie contemporaine, renforçant limage de la Grèce comme le berceau de la civilisation occidentale.
En savoir plus <<<<<

La sève grecque qui parfume le monde LE MONDE | 19.11.2015 
Par Stéphane Davet

Sur lîle grecque de Chios, cette résine est cultivée depuis lAntiquité pour parfumer alcools et pâtisseries. Un savoir-faire inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de lhumanité.

Les mains noueuses de Maria montrent à son arrière-petite-fille comment nettoyer et trier les larmes de mastic. Assises devant de grands plateaux, sous les façades aux figures géométriques tracées au plâtre et au ciment typiques du village de Pyrgi, les femmes décollent petits cailloux, feuilles séchées et bouts décorce des milliers de perles translucides. Une résine aromatique, aussi baptisée « mastiha«  (prononcer « mastica »), fierté de lîle de Chios depuis l'Antiquité.

En savoir plus <<<<<<<<<<<<

Un nouveau Musée au coeur de l'ile rebelle
GRECE HEBDO - 25.02.2016

Un nouveau musée emblématique, directement lié à un site archéologique, comme cest déjà le cas pour Vergina, Delphes et Olympia, ouvrira ses portes au public en juin 2016. Il sagit du musée dElefterna, situé dans le site archéologique homonyme Elefterna en Crète.

En savoir plus <<<<<<

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2020

Crète, Terre d'Origines