Local events

 

          _cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_         _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905- 5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_     _cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b- 136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905-5cde- 3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_                     _cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_     _cc781905-5 cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_        The PSILORITIS RACE

The 7th ascent of Psiloritis, (the highest mountain in Crete) took place June 3, 2018.   Starting point: Nida Plateau, 7:30 a.m. 35 Kms.

  This is the distance traveled by pilgrims to the sacred city of Knossos to climb the mountain Psiloritis and honor their god, Zeus Cretagenes, who according to ancient Greek mythology was raised in the cave of Ideon Andron, center of worship and sanctuary in Minoan and Roman times.

Today, The Psiloritis Race connects myth with contemporary history as runners will follow in the footsteps of their ancestors on the sacred mountain of Zeus...

The race started on the morning of June 3 on the plateau of Nida in Anogia in Crete. The 35 km athletes will reach the summit of Psiloritis (2,456 meters).

Also offered: 8.5 km of running, 8 km of Nordic walking and 2 km for children. This race brings together many countries and is always animated by many festivals.

 

The international mountain race "Psiloritis Race" is an athletic meeting that combines physical exercise, natural atmosphere and contact with nature.   It is not only a sporting effort based on endurance, and adventure, linked to the unique beauty of Crete, but also to make known all over the world Greek and foreign athletes who have specialized   in mountain running, having the chance to live a real eight-hour athletic game, as a unique personal experience.

It is for these reasons that the athletes who each year  test their strengths in the "Psiloritis Race" by participating in it, adopt  the philosophy of semi-autonomy, are_cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_ as lightly loaded as possible, thanks to systematic supply from the organizers. Moreover, this athletic game has the objective of organizational integrity, in order to attract, year after year, the interest of even more athletes.

The “Psiloritis Race” site   gives all the information related to the race, as well as the Facebook page which has been adopted by nearly 3200 friends from all over the world. The interest expressed exceeded the expectations of the Organizing Committee, which is passionately committed to the organisation.

IMG_0027
IMG_0028
IMG_0029
IMG_0034
IMG_0035
IMG_0038
IMG_0043

Every year, first weekend of July, theDRIMISKOS taverncelebrates "The Feast of the Shepherds". It is a question of shearing the sheep at the beginning of the summer, in order to allow them to bear the heat. A great opportunity to dance, sing, and see these strong men at work rehearsing ancestral gestures! But it is also for us the opportunity to taste the famous "antechristo": lamb grilled over a wood fire .. slowly ... and to admire our friends at work! Are you joining us?

On the occasion of the "CRETAN DIET FESTIVAL", organized by the City ofRethymnonevery year at the beginning of July, we organize a stay: 

          _cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_         _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905- 5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_     _cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b- 136bad5cf58d_       "Discovering the secrets of the Cretan Diet"

 

 

This stay is for people wishing to both visit the rebel island and discover the secrets of the famous Cretan diet, which is anything but a Diet. 

The festival is held in the public garden of the Venetian city of Rethymno. We taste  local products: Wines, Cheeses, Raki, Honey, carob, olive paste... during the stay discover  artisans and small producers and take part in des  very lively musical evenings. It can also be professional meetings between different producers.

12 participants had the chance to discover Crete differently in 2018.

 

Next stay:June 30 to July 6 2019

Evénements locaux

 

                                                                                                                La course du PSILORITIS (PSILORITIS RACE)

La 7ème ascension du Psiloritis, (le plus haut mont de Crète) s'est déroulée le 3 Juin 2018.  Point de départ : Plateau de Nida, 7 h30. 35 Kms.

 Il s'agit de la distance parcourue par les pèlerins de la ville sacrée de Knossos pour escalader la montagne Psiloritis et honorer leur dieu, Zeus Cretagenes, qui, selon la mythologie grecque antique, a été élevé dans la grotte d'Ideon Andron, centre de culte et sanctuaire à l'époque minoenne et romaine.

Aujourd'hui, La course du Psiloritis relie le mythe à l'histoire contemporaine puisque les coureurs suivront les traces de leurs ancêtres sur la montagne sacrée de Zeus ...

La course a débuté le matin du 3 juin sur le plateau de Nida à Anogia en Crète. Les athlètes de 35 km atteindront le sommet de Psiloritis (2.456 mètres).

Sont aussi proposés : 8,5 Kms de course, 8 kms de marche nordique et 2 kms pour les enfants. Cette course rassemble de très nombreux pays et est toujours animée par de nombreuses fêtes.

 

La course internationale de montagne «Psiloritis Race» est une rencontre athlétique qui allie exercice physique, ambiance naturelle et contact avec la nature.  Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'un effort sportif basé sur l'endurance, et l'aventure, liée à la beauté unique de la Crète, mais aussi de de faire connaître dans le monde entier des athlètes grecs et étrangers qui se sont spécialisés  en course de montagne, ayant la chance de vivre un vrai jeu athlétique de huit heures, comme une unique expérience personnelle. 

C'est pour ces raisons-là que les athlètes qui testent chaque année leurs forces au «Psiloritis Race» en y participant, adoptent la philosophie de la semi-autonomie, sont le moins chargés possible, grâce à un approvisionnement systématique de la part des organisateurs. Par ailleurs, ce jeu athlétique a comme objectif l'intégrité organisationnelle, afin d'attirer, année après année, l'intérêt d'athlètes encore plus nombreux.

Le site «Psiloritis Race»  donne l'ensemble des informations liées à la course, ainsi que la page sur Face book qui a été adoptée par près de 3200 amis du monde entier. L'intérêt exprimé a dépassé les attentes du Comité d'Organisation, qui est passionnément engagé dans l'organisation.

Chaque année, premier week end de juillet , la taverne DRIMISKOS célébre "La fête des Bergers". Il s'agit de tondre les moutons au commencement de l'été, afin de leur permettre de supporter la chaleur. Une belle occasion de danser, chanter, et voir à l'oeuvre ces hommes forts répèter des gestes ancestraux ! Mais c'est aussi pour nous la possibilité de goûter au fameux "antechristo" : l'agneau grillé au feu de bois .. lentement ... et d'admirer nos amis à l'oeuvre ! Vous nous rejoignez ?

A l'occasion du "CRETAN DIET FESTIVAL", organisé par la Ville de Rethymno chaque année début juillet, nous organisons un séjour : 

                                                           "Découverte des secrets du Régime Crétois"

 

 

Ce séjour s'adresse à des personnes souhaitant à la fois visiter l'ile rebelle et découvrir les secrets du fameux régimé crétois, qui est tout sauf un Régime. 

Le festival se tient dans le jardin public de la cité vénitienne de Rethymno. Nous goûtons aux produits locaux : Vins, Fromages, Raki, Miel, caroube, pâte d'olives ...    Les participants au séjour découvrent les artisans et les petits producteurs et participent à des soirées musicales trés animées. Il peut aussi s'agir de rencontres professionnelles entre différents producteurs.

12 participants ont eu la chance de déccouvrir la Crète autrement en 2018.

 

Prochain séjour : 30 juin au 6 juillet 2019

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2020

Crète, Terre d'Origines