Herbs and spices of Crete

THE MALOTIRA

 

This is an herbal tea that, as the name suggests, takes the bad up. It grows in dry places without vegetation. It helps with digestion and lutes against colds. It is also diuretic.

 

OREGANO or RIGANI

 

The name of this herb comes from greek word : "OROS" wich means mountains, and "GANOS" which means joy. It flowers in May, June and July. Its flowers are white, with a peppery smell. This plant is particularly appreciated by bees. It is also used as seasoning in the kitchen, for rotis, fish, meats, cheese and salads. Dry oregano gives more flavour to food that fresh one. Cretan people use both version, depending of the dish. Oregano is an antiseptic, soothes the toothache and stomach. It is widely used in perfumery. It is a great source of fibre, iron, calcium, vitamins A,C and K.

 

THYME or THYMARI

 

There are more than 100 varieties of thyme, many of which are decorative. Thyme is best picked in the morning. It can be put to dry in a dry place, away from the sun. In ancient Greece, the poor ate a stimulating mix of thyme, honey and vinegar, as well as the elderly, to tone their brains. It was also used to soothe headaches and as an antidote for snake bites. The Romans burned thyme in their homes to scare off the scorpions. Alexander the Great used thyme in decoction, to avoid lice. It was also believed that one could cure melancholy if one slept every evening on a pillow filled with thyme. Thyme gargles have excellent results against gingivitis, sore throat and coughing. The two essential oils contained in thyme: THYMOL and CARVACROL are anti-bacterial and antiseptic. The thyme tea improves the functioning of the intestine.
Thyme is used in Crete preferably on meat (chicken, veal, rabbit) cooked with wine and tomato. Its flowers are blue and it blooms in June and July. In Crete, there is also thyme with white flowers. (Asprothymos), very popular with bees. Its essence is used in toothpastes.

 

 

THE SARRIETTE

 

Savory is a bee plant. Its smell can be confused with that of thyme and oregano. It stimulates the appetite, and calms rheumatism.

 

SPEARMINT or DIOSMOS

 

Persephone walks on the banks of the river Acheron, and surprises Pluto her husband in the arm of a beautiful nymph named: Minthi. In anger, she turns the girl into a plant with purple flowers. Pluto, wanting to soften this punishment, gave the plant an unforgettable fragrance ... For the ancient Greeks, the mint awakens the spirit and refreshes the blood. The Romans perfumed the water of their bath with mint. it is above all TONIC, DIGESTIVE and ANTISPASMODIC. it stimulates the liver and gallbladder. Added with a pick of honey, mint tea fights abdominal pain and flatulence. It also relieves gastric ulcers. It helps to reduce motion sickness. Mint oil is one of the main components of toothpastes, sweets, chewing gums. There are eight official mint species. Fresh mint can be kept for 3/4 days in the refrigerator and dried, it can last several weeks, protected from the light. In Greek cuisine, it is widely used to make sauces, or fresh, finely chopped, in keftedes (meatballs), stuffed grape leaves, eggplant caviar, zucchini pies and cheese slippers. (graviera or myzithra).

Thyme
Spearmint
sauge
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2020

Crète, Terre d'Origines

Les plantes et épices de Crète

J

LA MALOTIRA

 

Il s'agit d'une tisane qui, comme son nom l'indique, tire le mal. Elle pousse dans les endroits secs, sans végétation. Elle aide à la digestion et lute contre les  refroidissements. Elle est aussi diurétique.

L 'ORIGAN

Il fleurit en mai, juin et juillet. Ses fleurs sont blanches, avec une odeur poivrée. Cette plante est particulièrement appréciée des abeilles. Elle est aussi utilisée comme assaisonnement dans la cuisine, pour les rotis, les poissons, les viandes, le fromage et les salades. L'Origan est un antiseptique, calme le mal de dents et d'estomac. Il est beaucoup utilisé dans la parfumerie.

LE THYM

Il existe plus de 100 variétés de thym, dont beaucoup sont décoratives. Le thym se cueille de préférence le matin. On peut le mettre à sécher dans un endroit sec, à l'abri du soleil. Dans la Grèce antique, les pauvres mangeaient un mélange stimulant de thym, miel et vinaigre, ainsi que les personnes âgées, pour tonifier leur cerveau. On l'utilisait aussi pour apaiser les maux de tête et comme antidote contre les morsures de serpent. Les romains brûlaient du thym dans leurs maisons pour faire fuir les scorpions. Alexandre le grand utilisait le thym en décoction, pour éviter les poux. On croyait aussi que l'on pouvait guérir de la mélancolie si l'on dormait tous les soirs sur un oreiller rempli de thym. Les gargarismes de thym donnent d'excellents résultats contre les gingivites, le mal de gorge et la toux. Les deux huiles essentielles contenues dans le thym : le THYMOL et le CARVACROL sont anti-bactériennes et antiseptiques. La tisane de thym améliore le fonctionnement de l'intestin. 
Le thym s'utilise en Crète de préférence sur les viandes (poulet, veau, lapin) cuisinées au vin et à la tomate. 
Ses fleurs sont bleues et il fleurit en juin et juillet. En Crète, il y a aussi du thym au fleurs blanches. ( Asprothymos), trés apprécié des abeilles. Son essence est utilisée dans les dentifrices.

LA SARRIETTE

La sarriette est une plante apicole.  Son odeur peut être confondue à celle du thym et de l'origan. Elle stimule l'appétit, et calme les rhumatismes.

LA MENTHE 

Perséphone se promène sur les rives du fleuve Achéron, et surprend Pluton son époux au bras d'une belle nymphe nommée : Minthi. De colère, elle transforme la jeune fille en une plante aux fleurs mauves. Pluton, voulant adoucir cette punition, donna alors à la plante un parfum inoubliable ... Pour les anciens grecs, la menthe éveille l'esprit et rafraichit le sang. Les romains parfumaient l'eau de leur bain avec de la menthe. elle est avant tout TONIQUE, DIGESTIVE et ANTISPASMODIQUE. elle stimule le foie et la vésicule biliaire. Additionné d'une cueillère de miel, le thé à la menthe combat les douleurs abdominales et les flatulences. Il soulage également des ulcères gastriques. Il aide à atténuer le mal des transports. L'huile de menthe est une des composantes principales de dentifrices, bonbons, chewing-gums. Il existe huit espèces de menthes officielles. La menthe fraiche se conserve 3/4 jours au réfrigérateur et séchée, elle peut tenir plusieurs semaines, à l'abri de la lumière. Dans la cuisine grecque, elle est beaucoup utilisée pour composer les sauces, ou fraiches, finement coupée, dans les keftedes (boulettes de viande), les feuilles de vigne farcies, le caviar d'aubergines, les tourtes aux courgettes et les chaussons au fromage (graviera ou myzithra).

Le Thym
La menthe
La sauge
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2020

Crète, Terre d'Origines