Did you know ?

What are the customs for celebrating Christmas in Greece ?

It is customary, for Christmas in Greece, to decorate village squares, his house, his garden, his table, with a boat, the Greek national emblem, rather than a tree. The boat was once a way to symbolize the return of the father, long gone to sea. The boys stroll through the streets singing Kalendas, holding a boat in their arms and marking the tempo with a triangle.

December 24 marks the end of a fast, and the Christmas meal will be very generous. The Greeks are very religious and observant: they all attend Christmas mass on December 24 and eat dried fruits on their return. It is during the meal of December 24 that we will share Christopsomo : the bread of Christ.

They hang Basilisk over their doors to keep evil spirits away. It is only on January 1st that the children will receive their gifts, deposited by Saint Basile. We will then taste the Vassilopita , in which we will have taken care to hide a room. This custom refers to the story of Saint Basil, who, to save his disciples from famine, hid coins in loaves that he distributed.

It is on the day of Epiphany that the Pope will bless the sea, will throw a cross that the faithful will bring back after having plunged into cold water ... In order to prove their courage. This victory will bring good luck all year round to the diver and his family.

Finally, don't forget to throw a pomegranate (the fruit!) In front of your door on December 31 ... This fertility symbol will bring you prosperity all year round!

karavakinew.jpg
téléchargement.jpg

On December 1, 1913, Crete was officially attached to the Greek state. It is the end of an exhausting struggle and many deadly fights (against the Venetians (450 years of occupation) then against the Ottomans, to whom they never bowed). It was in Chania that this reunion was celebrated, in the presence of King Constantine and Prime Minister Eleftherios Venizelos. At exactly 11:50 a.m., 94-year-old Anagnostis Mandakas and 88-year-old Hadjimichalis Yiannaris raised the Greek flag over the Firkas fortress, as 101 cannon shots were fired.

78071537_10219937278124034_7530489335443

Alexander the Great was the first Greek to have his face reproduced on coins. Only gods and goddesses were represented before this.

The month of May owes its name to the Greek goddess Maïa, a pleiad, daughter of Atlas, mother of Hermes.

The Greeks are the third largest olive producers in the world. They have always cultivated olive trees and some olive trees, dating from the 13th century, still produce olives!

Some Greek expressions that will make you smile ... But which are very real!

Crete is located just 250 km from the coast of North Africa!

The Komboloi is a small rosary that the Cretans hold in their hands, in all circumstances… they patiently scratch each piece, turn it with energy; this rosary no longer has any religious significance: in turn anti-stress, game, pastime, it is often transformed by craftsmen into wall decoration object, wooden, glass or colored crystal jewel.

Why do old village women often wear black? By tradition, Cretan women mourn the loss of one of their parents for three years ...

The family in Crete is understood very broadly: three generations can share the same roof, and the members continue to help each other. Socially, no generational conflict ...

In all the Cretan taverns, we meet regular players of "T avli " (or Backgammon); This is the favorite game of the Cretans. Sometimes they even play for real money.

The Cretans very often wear a mustache. It is a traditional sign of virility.

Traditional music in Crete is not to be considered as folk music. On the contrary, it is part of everyday life, and is more easily played and danced by these gentlemen. Nikos XILOURIS is a well-known Cretan singer and nicknamed "the Cretan Archangel". He died very young from cancer, and the Cretans made him their muse .

Le saviez-vous ?

Quelles sont les coutumes pour fêter Noël en Grèce ?

Il est de coutume, pour les fêtes de Noël en Grèce, d'orner les places de villages, sa maison, son jardin, sa table, d'un bateau, emblème national grec, plutôt qu’un sapin. Le bateau était autrefois un moyen de symboliser le retour du père, longtemps parti en mer. Les garçons déambulent dans les rues en chantant des Kalendas, en tenant un bateau dans leurs bras et en marquant le tempo à l'aide d'un triangle.

Le 24 décembre marque la fin d'un jeûne, et le repas de Noël sera très copieux. Les grecs sont très croyants et pratiquants : ils assistent tous à la messe de Noël du 24 décembre et mangent des fruits secs au retour.  C'est lors du repas du 24 décembre que l'on partagera le Christopsomo : le pain du Christ.

Ils suspendent du Basilic au dessus de leurs portes, afin de tenir éloignés les esprits malfaisants. Ce n'est que le 1er janvier que les enfants recevront leurs  cadeaux, déposés par Saint Basile. On dégustera alors le Vassilopita, dans lequel on aura pris soin de dissimuler une pièce. Cette coutume se réfère à l'histoire de Saint Basile, qui, pour sauver ses disciples de la famine, cachait des pièces dans des pains qu'il distribuait.

C'est le jour de l'Epiphanie que le Pope bénira la mer, jettera une croix que les fidèles ramèneront après avoir plongé dans l'eau froide ... Afin de prouver leur courage. Cette victoire apportera de la chance toute l'année au plongeur et à sa famille.

Enfin, n'oubliez pas de jeter une grenade (le fruit ! ) devant votre porte, le 31 décembre ... Ce symbole de fertilité vous amènera la prospérité toute l'année !

Le 1 er décembre 1913, la Crète est officiellement rattachée à l'État grec. C'est la fin d'une lutte épuisante et de nombreux combats meurtriers (contre les vénitiens (450 ans d'occupation) puis contre les Ottomans, devant lesquels ils ne s'inclinèrent jamais). C'est à la Canée que fut célébré ce rattachement, en présence du roi Constantin et du Premier ministre Eleftherios Venizelos. A 11h50 trés exactement, Anagnostis Mandakas, âgé de 94 ans, et Hadjimichalis Yiannaris, âgé de 88 ans, ont levé le drapeau grec sur la forteresse de Firkas, alors que 101 coups de canon ont été tirés. 

Alexandre le Grand fut le premier grec a faire reproduire son visage sur les pièces de monnaie. Seuls les dieux et les déesses étaient représentés avant cela.

Le mois de mai doit son nom à la déesse grecque Maïa, une pléiade, fille d’Atlas, mère d’Hermès.

Les grecs sont les troisièmes producteurs d'olives au monde. Ils cultivent les oliviers depuis toujours et certains oliviers, datant du 13 ème siècle, produisent encore des olives !

Quelques expressions grecques qui vous feront sourire ... Mais qui sont bien réelles ! 

La Crète se trouve à seulement 250 km des côtes d’Afrique du Nord !

Le Komboloï est un petit chapelet que tiennent à la main les crétois, en toute circonstance… ils égrainent avec patience chacune des pièces, le font tourner avec énergie ; ce chapelet n’a plus aucune signification religieuse : tour à tour antistress, jeu, passe-temps, il est souvent transformé par les artisans en objet de décoration murale, bijou en bois, en verre ou en Crystal coloré.

Pourquoi les vieilles villageoises portent elles souvent le noir ? Par tradition, les crétoises portent le deuil de l’un de leur parent pendant trois ans …

La famille en Crète s’entend au sens très large : trois générations peuvent partager le même toit, et les membres continuent de s’entraider. Socialement, aucun conflit de génération…

Dans toutes les tavernes crétoises, on reencontre des joueurs assidus de «Tavli» (ou Backgammon) ; Il s’agit du jeu préféré des crétois. Ils jouent même parfois pour de l’argent.

Les crétois portent très souvent la moustache. Il s’agit d’un traditionnel signe de virilité.

La musique traditionnelle en Crète n’est pas à considérer comme de la musique folklorique. Bien au contraire, elle fait partie du quotidien, et est plus facilement jouée et dansée par ces messieurs. Nikos XILOURIS est un chanteur crétois très connu et surnommé « l’archange crétois ». Il est décédé très jeune d’un cancer, et les crétois en ont fait leur égérie.

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2021

Crète, Terre d'Origines